Know Jesus

I recently realized that I had not updated my pages or information since I was like, thirteen. So I updated everything. If you noticed any heresies in my last “About” page, then you may find them corrected–or you may not.

It is amazing how God changes people. He is like a master sculptor taking a lifetime to complete even just one statue. Slowly He does this and remolds that, and then sometimes we move and get in the way. Imagine watching a statue come to life and tell the sculptor what to do. God probably just smiles adoringly and then fixes our mess (which can look harsh and mean, but it really isn’t).

Life is very interesting (or should I say disturbing?), because I am convinced that no matter how much we grow and mature and are sanctified, we will always have some sort of heresy in our beliefs. (By heresy I mean wrong, not completely Biblical.)

Sobering is it not?

This means that we should never dogmatically defend our beliefs because we may be defending heresy, and what will you do if you realize you are believing heresy? You will be forced to either go on defending a lie that you do not believe but are too proud to admit, or you will have to humbly admit to those whom you hurt that you were wrong.

So does that mean we just passively hold to our beliefs because they may be heretical?

No, rather, it means we have to sort out our beliefs and search the scriptures for what really matters. What is the focal point of the Bible? Jesus. Therefore make Jesus your conviction (1 Corinthians 2:2). Get to know Jesus and sift everything through Jesus and what He says. This means that you will find heresy–that is what a life must consist of, sifting out heresy, and it may take eighty years to do it. (I sometimes wonder if the reason great men and women die, seemingly premature, is because they are nearing perfection and so God just takes them Home.)

We should live humbly (1 Corinthians 8:2-3), and with an open mind remembering that we are in the process of sanctification. If we are stubborn and too proud to change, how can the Holy Spirit move us? How can He communicate with us if we are stubbornly believing things contrary to His nature? We must allow God to convict us and root into our hearts the beliefs that He wants us to have, and all the peripheral beliefs will be refined as we are sanctified.

Often I find that I believe things not because they are true or Biblical, but because that is how I have grown up, or how others believe.

Lord, help us to return to the scriptures as the Basis for everything we believe.

These are some of the thoughts I processed as I updated my pages. I want to live my life in a way that glorifies Jesus. I want to lift Jesus high! I submit myself to His authority and I surrender my life to Him so that I may become smaller and He become bigger. That is what obedience and submission is all about, isn’t it? Allowing Him to reign because He DESERVES to reign.

“Everything else is worthless when compared with the infinite value of knowing Christ Jesus my Lord. For his sake I have discarded everything else, counting it all as garbage, so that I could gain Christ and become one with him. I no longer count on my own righteousness through obeying the law; rather, I become righteous through faith in Christ. For God’s way of making us right with himself depends on faith. I want to know Christ and experience the mighty power that raised him from the dead. I want to suffer with him, sharing in his death, so that one way or another I will experience the resurrection from the dead!

I don’t mean to say that I have already achieved these things or that I have already reached perfection. But I press on to possess that perfection for which Christ Jesus first possessed me. No, dear brothers and sisters, I have not achieved it, but I focus on this one thing: Forgetting the past and looking forward to what lies ahead, I press on to reach the end of the race and receive the heavenly prize for which God, through Christ Jesus, is calling us.”

- Philippians 3:8-14

C.D.

Leave a Reply

